Boston Adult Literacy
Home
Student Stories
Search

Volunteer in a Program

Help someone learn English, computers, read better, improve math skills, get a GED, or become a US Citizen. Call / Email the organization contact person in the neighborhood of your choice.

Presently, 5500 Boston residents are on waitlists for classes.

Allston-Brighton Adult Education Coalition

* Jackson-Mann Community Center

Address 500 Cambridge Street
Allston, MA. 02134
t (617) 635-5153
f (617) 635-5275
Web Site None
Contact Valerie Vigoda
E-Mail Valerie.vigoda@gmail.com
Service Category ABE
Distance Learning
ESOL
GED
Time(s) Evening
Child Care None
Notes

* Crittenton Women's Union

Address 10 Perthshire Road
Brighton, MA. 02135
t (617) 782-7600 x2119
f (617) 254-7966
Web Site www.liveworkthrive.org
Contact Marisela Gomez
E-Mail mgomez@liveworkthrive.org
Service Category YA-ABE
YA-GED
Job Skills
Time(s) Afternoon
Morning
Child Care None
Notes

Gardner Pilot Academy

Address 30 Athol St. Allston, MA. (617) 635-6705
Web Site www.gardneradulteducation.weebly.com
Contact Michelle Duval
E-Mail m.duval@live.com
Service Category ESOL
Time(s) Evening
Child Care Yes
Notes

Boston College Neighborhood Center

Address 425 Washington St. Brighton, MA (617) 552-0445
Web Site www.bc.edu/neighborhood
Contact Maria DiChiappari
E-Mail Bcnc@bc.edu
Service Category ESOL
Time(s) Afternoon
Evening
Child Care None
Notes

The Literacy Connection

Address 637 Cambridge St. Brighton, MA (617) 746-2100
Web Site www.csjboston.org/litcon.htm
Contact Sister Pat Andrews
E-Mail Patacsj@aol.com
Service Category Citizenship
ESOL
Time(s) Afternoon
Evening
Morning
Child Care None
Notes

BEAM Project

Address 5 St. Luke's Road Allston, MA. (617) 244-2117
Web Site
Contact Ken Carpenter
E-Mail Kencarpenter@comcast.net
Service Category ESOL
Time(s)
Child Care None
Notes

Creative Workplace Learning

Address 311 Washington St. Brighton, MA. (617) 746-1260
Web Site www.creativeworkplacelearning.org
Contact Lloyd David
E-Mail lloyd_david@creativeworkplacelearning.org
Service Category ADP
Computers
ESOL
Time(s) Afternoon
Morning
Child Care None
Notes

Brazilian Women's Group

Address 569 Cambridge St. Allston, MA. 02134 (617) 787-0057 x14 & 15 (617) 779-9586
Web Site www.verdeamarelo.org
Contact Heloisa Maria Galvao
E-Mail helogalvao@aol.com
Service Category ESOL
Time(s) Evening
Child Care Yes
Notes Child care upon request

Allston-Brighton Community Development Corporation (CDC)

Address 20 Linden St.
Allston, MA. 02134
(617) 787-3874 x229
Web Site www.allstonbrightoncdc.org
Contact Juan Carlos Canales
E-Mail Canales@allstonbrightoncdc.org
Service Category Homebuying class
Time(s) Evening
Child Care None
Notes

*Indicates the organization is a member of the Adult Literacy Initiative (ALI) and receives funding from the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and the City of Boston